Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes August 30, 2012 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Reitz Union Auditorium

The meeting was called to order at 3:08 p.m.

Cheri Brodeur welcomed senators and guests to the Faculty Senate meeting and introduced President Machen to present the State of the University Address.

State of the University Address

Bernie Machen, President

Action Items

The May 2012 minutes were approved.

Honorary Degrees

Cheri Brodeur, Faculty Senate Chair

Cheri Brodeur, Faculty Senate Chair

Hartmut Derendorf, Member, Honorary Degree Committee

The Senate approved the candidates for Honorary Degrees: Yuichi Sugiyama.

Information Items

Chair's Report

- The Faculty were involved with the Presidential Search during the summer. Many faculty were involved in the actual process and there will be more opportunities for faculty input in the future.
- Cheri noted that she received many questions as to why she was not on the Presidential Search Committee. She suggested Scott Nygren to sit on the committee to allow her to contact potential candidates and communicate freely with all parties. Harry Klee and Ben Dunn are also representing faculty on the committee.
- Tom Mitchell from the Foundation has offered to setup an area to gather with coffee for faculty to talk about what they are doing in research and teaching. Also, plans are to have small gathering events throughout the year for new faculty.

<u>150th Anniversary of the Morrill Act</u>

- Morrill Act was signed into law by Abraham Lincoln on July 2, 1862: "An Act Donating public lands to the several states and [Territories] which may provide colleges for the benefit of agriculture and the mechanical arts"
- Dr. Balser chairs the task force to plan a year of celebration. Task Force consisted of 45 members from all areas of the university.
- Events
 - o Speakers, Awards, Symposiums, TV and Radio Spots

Teresa Balser, Dean, Agriculture

Program Termination

Ken Gerhardt, Assoc. Dean, Graduate School

• Graduate Council approved the proposal to terminate the Master of Insurance. This program has not had students in many years.

New Statute Gen Ed HB7135

Bernard Mair, Assoc. Provost, Undergraduate Affairs and **Joe Glover,** Provost

- Statute 1007.25 was revised to "improve articulation and reduce excess hours" for students entering the State University System and Florida College System.
- New law states that State Board of Education and the Board of Governors shall appoint faculty committees to identify statewide general education core course options.
- General Education course options will consist of a maximum of 5 courses within each subject area: communications, mathematics, social sciences, humanities and natural sciences.
- Starting in 2014, each freshman must complete at least one core course in each subject area.
- The remaining requirements will be decided by the institution.
- General Education will consist of 30 credit hours and demonstrate competence in a foreign language. This is a change from 36 credit hours previously.
- The process will be directed by a state steering committee consisting of representatives from 5 SUS and 5 FCS institutions. Five faculty committees will also be formed to make recommendations of the actual courses to be included in the core.
- Each institution is required to nominate one faculty member in each of the five areas to serve on the committees with the Steering Committee making the final decision on the composition of the committees.
- Work should be completed by April 2013 at the state level.

Engineering Transcripts

Mark Law, Assoc. Dean, Engineering

Scott Nygren, Liaison, MSTF

• Currently, computer engineering tracks are printed out on transcripts. ABET, the accreditation agency has requested that the transcript prints the degree and not the track. Accreditation depends on this change. College of Engineering is working with the Registrar to correct this issue.

Mission Statement Task Force

- Interest to rewriting the mission statement has been ongoing for a year and a half.
- Last spring Faculty Council Chairs thought it was the right time to review the mission statement.
- Joint committee was put together with nominations from Faculty Council Chairs and approval of President.
- Some students have requested to add "global citizenship" to the mission statement.
- First meeting August 16 -will continue to meet during the fall.
- Scott Nygren and Tim Brophy are liaisons.
- Once the task force formulates the mission statement, it will come before the Faculty Senate, then it must be approved by the Board of Trustees.

Presidential Search Committee

Scott Nygren, Member,

Presidential Search Committee

- Board of Trustees formed the Presidential Search Committee in July
- There are several subcommittees. Scott chairs the campus interview committee which is a subcommittee.
- First meeting of search committee was August 1

- We learned from the focus group that faculty want any candidate for President to have an academic background, advanced degree and experience managing a major research university.
- Criteria has been approved and listed on the website.

Meeting adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Senators Attending

Sophia Acord **Charles Adams** Mary Adkins Nagaraj Arakere Scott Banks **Ramon Bautista** Sherry Benton Sanford Berg Alexander Berkovich Jim Bice Donald Bolser Marcus Boston **Babette Brumback** Paul Chadik **Edward Chan** Jean Cibula **Donald Cohen** Jerry Culen **Deb Cupples** Florin Curta Harry Daniels Tammy Davidson Julie Dodd **Kevin Farmer** Kate Fogarty **Robyn Gleason Renee Goodrich** Charles Haddad Shannon Hamlett Jacob Hammer **Candace Harper Christopher Hass** Galia Hatav **Cindy Higgins Richard Hill** Shannon Holliday Alice Holmes Aida Hozic David Janicke

Margeaux Johnson Mike Katovich Joseph Katz James Keesling Mary Keith Dmitry Kopelevich Dragan Kujundzic John Leavy Lora Levett Scott Livengood Rob MacKay Martin Main Renwei Mei **Kimberly Moore** Julia Morrisroe Paul Mueller Debra Murie Vasudha Narayanan Nawari Nawari Mahendrarajah Nimalendran **David Ostrov** John Palmer Deana Pelfrey Jorg Peters Mario Poceski William Properzio Neta Pulvermacher Patrick Reakes **Robert Ries Beverly Roberts** Andrew Rosalsky **Beverly Sanders** Kenneth Sassaman **Christopher Scuderi** James Seale **Rich Segal Brent Sellers** SA Sherif Steve Shugan

Meera Sitharam Laura Sjoberg Maya Stanfield-Mazzi **Keith Stanfill** Craig Stanley John Stevely **Carol Stewart** Jake Streit Laurie Taylor Joseph Tepas Mark Tillman Amy Tobler Scott Tomar Sonal Tuli Neill Wallis **Bradley Walters** Lori Waxenberg Ann Wehmeyer Karen Whalen Joe Wilson Sandra Wilson Suzanne Wilson Andrew Wolpert Janet Yamamoto Mary Ellen Young Henry Zmuda

Liaisons

Cammy Abernathy Teresa Balser Cheri Brodeur Teresa Dolan Elias Eldayrie Henry Frierson Paula Fussell Joe Glover David Guzick Kathy Long Bernie Machen Scott Nygren Linda Lavelli Bernard Mair Michael Perri Maria Rogal Judith Russell David Sammons

Guests

Mark Law Rose Pringle John Harris James McLesky Kate Fogarty Donna Giles M E Swisher Doug Jones James Hamlin Steven Thomas Caryn Plummer Abe Goldman

Students

Jose R. Soto